City of Port Lincoln

Citizen of the Year Awards

Australia Day Citizen of the Year Awards

The Australia Day Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year and Community Event of the Year Awards are presented each year on January 26th during Australia Day celebrations.

Members of the community who make a significant contribution, inspires and or makes outstanding contributions to the community are eligible for nomination.  

Outstanding contribution and community service includes areas such as; education, health, fundraising, charitable and voluntary services, business, sport, arts, the environment, or any other area that contributes to the advancement and wellbeing of the community. 

Each year City of Port Lincoln invite the community to nominate a worthy receipient for the following Awards:

Australia Day Citizen Award  
To be eligible, the person must be an Australian Citizen.

Australia Day Young Citizen Award
To be eligible, the person must be an Australian Citizen under 30 years of age on 26 January of the current year.

The Community Event of the Year Award
Presented to the person or group who has staged the most outstanding community event during the past year.

The Awards recognise and reward individuals and organisations that have made a noteworthy contribution during the current year, and/or give an outstanding service over a number of years, to a local community over and above normal employment duties.

These Awards are provided by the Australia Day Council of South Australia and are administered by Local Government Authorities throughout the State on behalf of the Australia Day Council.  Proudly sponsored by Channel 9. 

Citizen of the Year Award Banner 2017

In recognition of significant achievements and contributions to our community, the City of Port Lincoln acknowledges people and organisations efforts with the presentation of Australia Day awards in conjunction with the Australia Day Council. In some circumstances the "Keys to the City" or "Freedom of the City" may be bestowed.

To view previous Australia Day award winners click Awards Register.

Australia Day Logo 2018

 2018 Australia Day Award recipients:

Citizen of the Year Award
Gavin Roberts
Young Citizen of the Year Award
Rebekah Danzic
Community Event of the Year Award
2017 Teakle Auto Sprint



City of Port Lincoln
City of Port Lincoln ABN: 80 776 127 243
PO Box 1787, PORT LINCOLN SA 5606
Level One, Civic Centre, 60 Tasman Terrace, Port Lincoln
Telephone: 08 8621 2300 | Fax: 08 8621 2399 | Email:
Building and Development
Contact Us
Council Minutes and Agendas
Make a Payment
Parks and Sporting Facilities
Permits and Applications
Waste and Recycling