Building & Development

Read more

Contact Us

Read more

Council Minutes & Agendas

Read more

Library Online Catalogue

Read more

Make a Payment

Read more

Parks & Sporting Facilities

Read more

Permits & Applications

Read more

Waste and Recycling

Read more

Council Elections and Enrolments

Local government elections are required to be conducted every four years with the next periodic election due in November 2018.  The conduct of the local government elections is set out in the Local Government (Elections) Act 1999.

Key Dates

2018 Councils Elections Timetable            
Roll close 5pm Friday 10 August 2018
Nominations Open Tuesday 4 September 2018
Nominations Close 12 noon Tuesday 18 September 2018
Mail out of voting materials                 Monday 22 - Friday 26 October 2018
Close of voting 5pm Friday 9 November 2018






Nominating as a candidate for election

Most people who are on the council voters roll can stand for election.

Becoming a councillor is one of the most direct ways that you can influence decisions that affect the quality of life in your local area.

If you are interested in representing the people of your community on council, the Electoral Commission of SA and the LGA (SA) provide a range of resources to help you understand the role and responsibilities of being a councillor.

Electoral Commission SA

Local Government Association of SA or click here to download an electronic copy of the Make a difference - nominate for council booklet.

With very few exceptions (such as being an undischarged bankrupt, or being disqualified from holding office by a court order), you can nominate for a position on council regardless of qualifications, religion, race, gender, experience or profession.

Nominations from people with diverse backgrounds is encouraged to ensure a wide range of views are being represented.  

Nomination process

Nominations for the 2018 local government elections opened Tuesday 4 September 2018 and closed Tuesday 18 September 2018 at 12 noon.  At the close of nominations Council had three candidates contesting for the Mayor vacancy and twelve candidates contesting for the nine area councillor vacancies.

Candidate List for 2018 Council Elections

Voting in the 2018 Council Elections

If you are on the state (House of Assembly) electoral roll or have completed an enrolment to join the supplementary roll, you will receive a voting pack in the mail late October 2018. 

Voting materials are being posted out from Monday 22 October to Friday 26 October 2018.

The ballot paper in your voting pack will show the candidates standing for election in your Council area.  To find out more about each of the candidates and what they stand for go to the LGA Candidates Website, and click on each candidate name for both the Mayor and Area Councillors elections. Once you complete your ballot paper make sure you return it in the reply paid envelope as soon as possible to ensure it is received before 5.00pm Friday 9 November 2018.

You can find more information about how to complete and return your vote to ensure it is valid on the Electoral Commission of South Australia website.

If you do not receive your voting pack and you are on the State (House of Assembly) roll or Council's supplementary roll you will need to contact the Electoral Commission SA to request the issue/re-issue of voting materials or visit your local Council office.  


Votes must be received before 5pm on Friday 9 November 2018

Make a difference by participating in your Council Election



Please note that third party electoral material posted on the City of Port Lincoln Council Facebook page or website will be removed as soon as identified and is able to be removed by Council staff.     

City of Port Lincoln does not take responsibility for posts by others to social media pages and cannot vouch for the accuracy of electorial material posted by third parties.  It is the responsibility of third parties to ensure that they comply with legal requirements, including those under the Local Government (Elections) Act 1999, particularly Sections 27 and 28.  

This page is authorised by Stephen Rufus, CEO, City of Port Lincoln, Level One, Civic Centre, 60 Tasman Terrace, Port Lincoln SA 5606



City of Port Lincoln
City of Port Lincoln ABN: 80 776 127 243
PO Box 1787, PORT LINCOLN SA 5606
Level One, Civic Centre, 60 Tasman Terrace, Port Lincoln
Telephone: 08 8621 2300 | Fax: 08 8621 2399 | Email:
City of Port Lincoln ABN: 80 776 127 243
PO Box 1787, PORT LINCOLN SA 5606
Level One, Civic Centre,
60 Tasman Terrace, Port Lincoln
Telephone: 08 8621 2300 | Fax: 08 8621 2399
City of Port Lincoln   Facebook